Home loans for accountants · September 2026
Up to 95% LVR with no insurance.
ANZ, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA, CommBank, Bank of Queensland and NAB list accountants on their LMI waiver, as at 22 September 2026. ANZ, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA go to 95%. CommBank, Bank of Queensland and NAB set no income test. The evidence you need is CPA, CA ANZ or IPA membership. On a $720,000 loan at 90% LVR the waiver is worth about $15,840; at 95%, about $30,240.
Only the lenders whose own policy names accountants. The lender’s wording for the profession is in the last column.
| Lender | Max LVR, no LMI | Income test | Lender’s wording |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANZ | 95% | no minimum income | 95% LVR: medical practitioners, dental practitioners and specialists; 90% LVR: physiotherapists, chiropractors, optometrists and vets; 90% LVR: lawyers, solicitors, barristers, judges and magistrates; 90% LVR: accountants with current CA ANZ, CPA, CFA Institute or FIAA membership |
| Westpac | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| St.George | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| Bank of Melbourne | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| BankSA | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| CommBank | 90% | None stated | Doctors; Lawyers; Accountants |
| Bank of Queensland | 90% | None stated | Doctors, dentists, veterinarians and accountants (through BOQ Specialist) |
| NAB | Not stated | None stated | AHPRA-registered medical professionals: anaesthetists, chiropractors, dental practitioners, dermatologists, GPs, obstetricians and gynaecologists, ophthalmologists, optometrists, paediatricians, pathologists, pharmacists, physicians, physiotherapists, psychiatrists, radiation oncologists, radiologists, surgeons, veterinary practitioners; Financial professionals: accountants (CA, CPA, IPA), actuaries (FIAA), financial analysts (CFA); Legal professionals: barristers, lawyers and solicitors |
So you can check us.
ANZ — ANZ LMI Waiver
“If your customer is an eligible medical professional and applies for new or increased lending and has a loan to value ratio (LVR) of up to 95% (as assessed by ANZ), ANZ will waive the premium on the Lenders Mortgage Insurance for that loan.” Evidence: Current AHPRA general or specialist registration for medical and dental (provisional, limited and non-practising registration don't qualify); state registration for vets; a current practising certificate for lawyers; proof of institute membership for accountants. The 95% tier assumes an owner-occupier principal-and-interest loan with a debt-to-income ratio under 6; investment and interest-only are available on different deposits. Loan up to $4.75m for medical, $4.5m for the rest, and the applicant must hold at least an equal share of the property. Not on ANZ Plus loans. Nurses, midwives, pharmacists, psychologists, podiatrists and osteopaths are listed as ineligible.
Westpac — Medico and industry LMI waivers
“Medico - 95% LVR+ LMI waiver: Dentists, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists. Medico - 90% LVR+ LMI waiver: Minimum income threshold of $90,000 per annum.” Evidence: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages.
St.George — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies
“No minimum income is needed for these professions, with a maximum LVR of up to 95%, with no LMI. Dentist, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists (as per the Medical Board of Australia).” Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Registration documents are not specified on the consumer page. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
Bank of Melbourne — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies
“Those in the listed healthcare and emergency service professions can apply for up to 90% LVR with no LMI, and must have a minimum income of $90k per year.” Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
BankSA — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies
“No minimum income is needed for these professions, with a maximum LVR of up to 95%, with no LMI. Dentist, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors, Medical Specialists (as per the Medical Board of Australia).” Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
CommBank — LMI waiver
“Are you a doctor, lawyer or accountant? Speak to a Home Lending Specialist to check if your profession is eligible for a LMI waiver with a deposit of as little as 10%.” CommBank publishes only the deposit: as little as 10%, which is 90% LVR. The income test, the evidence, whether investment loans qualify and the full profession list are not on its site; it says to ask a Home Lending Specialist.
Bank of Queensland — BOQ Specialist no-LMI lending
“You may be able to borrow up to 90% of your property's value and avoid paying lenders mortgage insurance (LMI).” Published by BOQ Specialist, a division of Bank of Queensland, not on boq.com.au. Stated conditionally and subject to credit approval; the Banking Package carries a $495 annual fee. Whether the 90% applies to investment loans, and any income test or evidence, is not published.
NAB — LMI waivers for medical and professional services
“This waiver is subject to eligibility criteria dependent on profession, loan type and loan-to-valuation (LVR) ratio thresholds. Must be practicing in an acceptable field and a current registered member of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).” Evidence: Current AHPRA registration for medical professions; current membership of CA, CPA, IPA, FIAA or the CFA Institute for financial professions; a current practising certificate for legal professions. NAB publishes the profession lists and the registration bodies but not the maximum LVR, an income test or a loan cap; it says eligibility depends on profession, loan type and LVR thresholds and directs you to a lender or broker.
8 of the 16 lenders we read publish accountants on their waiver list, as at 22 September 2026: ANZ to 95%, Westpac to 95%, St.George to 95%, Bank of Melbourne to 95%, BankSA to 95%, CommBank to 90%, Bank of Queensland to 90%, NAB. Brokers can often access policies the consumer sites don't show, so the list is a floor, not a ceiling.
95% at ANZ, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA. On a $720,000 loan the premium that removes is roughly $30,240, a one-off amount that would otherwise be added to the loan.
CommBank, Bank of Queensland and NAB publish none. Elsewhere: ANZ no minimum income; Westpac $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; St.George $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; Bank of Melbourne $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; BankSA $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier. Where there is a test it is usually the same figure the lender uses for every listed profession.
CPA, CA ANZ or IPA membership, plus payslips for the income test. ANZ: Current AHPRA general or specialist registration for medical and dental (provisional, limited and non-practising registration don't qualify); state registration for vets; a current practising certificate for lawyers; proof of institute membership for accountants.. Westpac: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages.. St.George: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Registration documents are not specified on the consumer page.. Bank of Melbourne: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included.. BankSA: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included.. NAB: Current AHPRA registration for medical professions; current membership of CA, CPA, IPA, FIAA or the CFA Institute for financial professions; a current practising certificate for legal professions..
It depends on the lender. ANZ: The 95% tier assumes an owner-occupier principal-and-interest loan with a debt-to-income ratio under 6; investment and interest-only are available on different deposits. Loan up to $4.75m for medical, $4.5m for the rest, and the applicant must hold at least an equal share of the property. Not on ANZ Plus loans. Nurses, midwives, pharmacists, psychologists, podiatrists and osteopaths are listed as ineligible. Westpac: Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages. St.George: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. Bank of Melbourne: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. BankSA: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. CommBank: CommBank publishes only the deposit: as little as 10%, which is 90% LVR. The income test, the evidence, whether investment loans qualify and the full profession list are not on its site; it says to ask a Home Lending Specialist. Bank of Queensland: Published by BOQ Specialist, a division of Bank of Queensland, not on boq.com.au. Stated conditionally and subject to credit approval; the Banking Package carries a $495 annual fee. Whether the 90% applies to investment loans, and any income test or evidence, is not published. NAB: NAB publishes the profession lists and the registration bodies but not the maximum LVR, an income test or a loan cap; it says eligibility depends on profession, loan type and LVR thresholds and directs you to a lender or broker.
Checked 22 September 2026against each lender’s own policy page; re-read monthly. Profession lists and income tests change without notice; confirm with the lender before you rely on a row. LMI estimates are a guide from insurers’ published tables, not a quote. Arthr Pty Ltd provides marketing and lead-generation services only; credit assistance is provided by 1st Street Pty Ltd, Credit Representative 490057 under Australian Credit Licence 389328.
1st Street sees every lender’s credit policy, including waivers the consumer sites don’t show, and which lender also gives you the rate.