Every lender’s LMI waiver

Home loans for doctors · September 2026

Home loans for doctors9 lenders waive LMI

Up to 95% LVR with no insurance.

ANZ, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA, CommBank, Bank of Queensland, Suncorp Bank and NAB list doctors on their LMI waiver, as at 22 September 2026. ANZ, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA go to 95%. CommBank, Bank of Queensland, Suncorp Bank and NAB set no income test. The evidence you need is AHPRA registration as a medical practitioner. On a $720,000 loan at 90% LVR the waiver is worth about $15,840; at 95%, about $30,240.

Lenders that list doctors
9 of 16
Highest LVR
95%
No income test
4
Evidence
AHPRA registration as a medical practitioner

Lender by lender

Only the lenders whose own policy names doctors. The lender’s wording for the profession is in the last column.

LenderMax LVR, no LMIIncome testLender’s wording
ANZ95%no minimum income95% LVR: medical practitioners, dental practitioners and specialists; 90% LVR: physiotherapists, chiropractors, optometrists and vets; 90% LVR: lawyers, solicitors, barristers, judges and magistrates; 90% LVR: accountants with current CA ANZ, CPA, CFA Institute or FIAA membership
Westpac95%$90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals
St.George95%$90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals
Bank of Melbourne95%$90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals
BankSA95%$90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals
CommBank90%None statedDoctors; Lawyers; Accountants
Bank of Queensland90%None statedDoctors, dentists, veterinarians and accountants (through BOQ Specialist)
Suncorp Bank90%None statedMedical practitioners with current AHPRA general or specialist registration
NABNot statedNone statedAHPRA-registered medical professionals: anaesthetists, chiropractors, dental practitioners, dermatologists, GPs, obstetricians and gynaecologists, ophthalmologists, optometrists, paediatricians, pathologists, pharmacists, physicians, physiotherapists, psychiatrists, radiation oncologists, radiologists, surgeons, veterinary practitioners; Financial professionals: accountants (CA, CPA, IPA), actuaries (FIAA), financial analysts (CFA); Legal professionals: barristers, lawyers and solicitors

In the lender’s words

So you can check us.

ANZ — ANZ LMI Waiver

If your customer is an eligible medical professional and applies for new or increased lending and has a loan to value ratio (LVR) of up to 95% (as assessed by ANZ), ANZ will waive the premium on the Lenders Mortgage Insurance for that loan.Evidence: Current AHPRA general or specialist registration for medical and dental (provisional, limited and non-practising registration don't qualify); state registration for vets; a current practising certificate for lawyers; proof of institute membership for accountants. The 95% tier assumes an owner-occupier principal-and-interest loan with a debt-to-income ratio under 6; investment and interest-only are available on different deposits. Loan up to $4.75m for medical, $4.5m for the rest, and the applicant must hold at least an equal share of the property. Not on ANZ Plus loans. Nurses, midwives, pharmacists, psychologists, podiatrists and osteopaths are listed as ineligible.

Westpac — Medico and industry LMI waivers

Medico - 95% LVR+ LMI waiver: Dentists, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists. Medico - 90% LVR+ LMI waiver: Minimum income threshold of $90,000 per annum.Evidence: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages.

St.George — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies

No minimum income is needed for these professions, with a maximum LVR of up to 95%, with no LMI. Dentist, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists (as per the Medical Board of Australia).Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Registration documents are not specified on the consumer page. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.

Bank of Melbourne — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies

Those in the listed healthcare and emergency service professions can apply for up to 90% LVR with no LMI, and must have a minimum income of $90k per year.Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.

BankSA — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies

No minimum income is needed for these professions, with a maximum LVR of up to 95%, with no LMI. Dentist, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors, Medical Specialists (as per the Medical Board of Australia).Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.

CommBank — LMI waiver

Are you a doctor, lawyer or accountant? Speak to a Home Lending Specialist to check if your profession is eligible for a LMI waiver with a deposit of as little as 10%.CommBank publishes only the deposit: as little as 10%, which is 90% LVR. The income test, the evidence, whether investment loans qualify and the full profession list are not on its site; it says to ask a Home Lending Specialist.

Bank of Queensland — BOQ Specialist no-LMI lending

You may be able to borrow up to 90% of your property's value and avoid paying lenders mortgage insurance (LMI).Published by BOQ Specialist, a division of Bank of Queensland, not on boq.com.au. Stated conditionally and subject to credit approval; the Banking Package carries a $495 annual fee. Whether the 90% applies to investment loans, and any income test or evidence, is not published.

Suncorp Bank — LMI waiver for eligible medical professionals

At least one borrower is an eligible Medical Practitioner at time of the loan application and registered with AHPRA, the loan amount is between $250,000 and $1,500,000, the Loan to Value Ratio (LVR) is between 80.01% and 90%.Evidence: Current AHPRA general or specialist registration, verifiable on the register at application; provisional, limited and non-practising registration don't qualify. At least one borrower must be the medical practitioner. LVR between 80.01% and 90%, loan between $250,000 and $1.5m, principal and interest only, purchase or refinance, owner-occupied or investment, on the Standard Variable, Back to Basics or Fixed loans with no package required. Excludes pre-approvals, bridging, construction and refinancing an existing Suncorp loan. Only medical practitioners: no dentists, vets, nurses or non-medical professions.

NAB — LMI waivers for medical and professional services

This waiver is subject to eligibility criteria dependent on profession, loan type and loan-to-valuation (LVR) ratio thresholds. Must be practicing in an acceptable field and a current registered member of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).Evidence: Current AHPRA registration for medical professions; current membership of CA, CPA, IPA, FIAA or the CFA Institute for financial professions; a current practising certificate for legal professions. NAB publishes the profession lists and the registration bodies but not the maximum LVR, an income test or a loan cap; it says eligibility depends on profession, loan type and LVR thresholds and directs you to a lender or broker.

Questions

Which lenders waive LMI for doctors?

9 of the 16 lenders we read publish doctors on their waiver list, as at 22 September 2026: ANZ to 95%, Westpac to 95%, St.George to 95%, Bank of Melbourne to 95%, BankSA to 95%, CommBank to 90%, Bank of Queensland to 90%, Suncorp Bank to 90%, NAB. Brokers can often access policies the consumer sites don't show, so the list is a floor, not a ceiling.

What LVR can doctors borrow to without LMI?

95% at ANZ, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA. On a $720,000 loan the premium that removes is roughly $30,240, a one-off amount that would otherwise be added to the loan.

Is there an income test for doctors?

CommBank, Bank of Queensland, Suncorp Bank and NAB publish none. Elsewhere: ANZ no minimum income; Westpac $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; St.George $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; Bank of Melbourne $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; BankSA $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier. The test is what catches interns and residents: the profession qualifies, the salary doesn't yet.

What evidence does a doctor need?

AHPRA registration as a medical practitioner, plus payslips for the income test. ANZ: Current AHPRA general or specialist registration for medical and dental (provisional, limited and non-practising registration don't qualify); state registration for vets; a current practising certificate for lawyers; proof of institute membership for accountants.. Westpac: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages.. St.George: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Registration documents are not specified on the consumer page.. Bank of Melbourne: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included.. BankSA: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included.. Suncorp Bank: Current AHPRA general or specialist registration, verifiable on the register at application; provisional, limited and non-practising registration don't qualify. At least one borrower must be the medical practitioner.. NAB: Current AHPRA registration for medical professions; current membership of CA, CPA, IPA, FIAA or the CFA Institute for financial professions; a current practising certificate for legal professions..

Can I use the waiver on an investment property?

It depends on the lender. ANZ: The 95% tier assumes an owner-occupier principal-and-interest loan with a debt-to-income ratio under 6; investment and interest-only are available on different deposits. Loan up to $4.75m for medical, $4.5m for the rest, and the applicant must hold at least an equal share of the property. Not on ANZ Plus loans. Nurses, midwives, pharmacists, psychologists, podiatrists and osteopaths are listed as ineligible. Westpac: Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages. St.George: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. Bank of Melbourne: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. BankSA: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. CommBank: CommBank publishes only the deposit: as little as 10%, which is 90% LVR. The income test, the evidence, whether investment loans qualify and the full profession list are not on its site; it says to ask a Home Lending Specialist. Bank of Queensland: Published by BOQ Specialist, a division of Bank of Queensland, not on boq.com.au. Stated conditionally and subject to credit approval; the Banking Package carries a $495 annual fee. Whether the 90% applies to investment loans, and any income test or evidence, is not published. Suncorp Bank: LVR between 80.01% and 90%, loan between $250,000 and $1.5m, principal and interest only, purchase or refinance, owner-occupied or investment, on the Standard Variable, Back to Basics or Fixed loans with no package required. Excludes pre-approvals, bridging, construction and refinancing an existing Suncorp loan. Only medical practitioners: no dentists, vets, nurses or non-medical professions. NAB: NAB publishes the profession lists and the registration bodies but not the maximum LVR, an income test or a loan cap; it says eligibility depends on profession, loan type and LVR thresholds and directs you to a lender or broker.

Checked 22 September 2026against each lender’s own policy page; re-read monthly. Profession lists and income tests change without notice; confirm with the lender before you rely on a row. LMI estimates are a guide from insurers’ published tables, not a quote. Arthr Pty Ltd provides marketing and lead-generation services only; credit assistance is provided by 1st Street Pty Ltd, Credit Representative 490057 under Australian Credit Licence 389328.

Which lender takes doctors this month?

1st Street sees every lender’s credit policy, including waivers the consumer sites don’t show, and which lender also gives you the rate.

Check your options