Home loans for nurses · September 2026
Up to 95% LVR with no insurance.
Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA list nurses on their LMI waiver, as at 22 September 2026. Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA go to 95%. The evidence you need is AHPRA registration as a nurse or midwife. On a $720,000 loan at 90% LVR the waiver is worth about $15,840; at 95%, about $30,240.
Only the lenders whose own policy names nurses. The lender’s wording for the profession is in the last column.
| Lender | Max LVR, no LMI | Income test | Lender’s wording |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westpac | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| St.George | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| Bank of Melbourne | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
| BankSA | 95% | $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier | 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals |
So you can check us.
Westpac — Medico and industry LMI waivers
“Medico - 95% LVR+ LMI waiver: Dentists, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists. Medico - 90% LVR+ LMI waiver: Minimum income threshold of $90,000 per annum.” Evidence: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages.
St.George — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies
“No minimum income is needed for these professions, with a maximum LVR of up to 95%, with no LMI. Dentist, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists (as per the Medical Board of Australia).” Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Registration documents are not specified on the consumer page. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
Bank of Melbourne — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies
“Those in the listed healthcare and emergency service professions can apply for up to 90% LVR with no LMI, and must have a minimum income of $90k per year.” Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
BankSA — Medico Policy and Industry Specialisation Policies
“No minimum income is needed for these professions, with a maximum LVR of up to 95%, with no LMI. Dentist, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors, Medical Specialists (as per the Medical Board of Australia).” Evidence: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
4 of the 16 lenders we read publish nurses on their waiver list, as at 22 September 2026: Westpac to 95%, St.George to 95%, Bank of Melbourne to 95%, BankSA to 95%. Brokers can often access policies the consumer sites don't show, so the list is a floor, not a ceiling.
95% at Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA. On a $720,000 loan the premium that removes is roughly $30,240, a one-off amount that would otherwise be added to the loan.
Elsewhere: Westpac $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; St.George $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; Bank of Melbourne $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier; BankSA $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier. Where there is a test it is usually the same figure the lender uses for every listed profession.
AHPRA registration as a nurse or midwife, plus payslips for the income test. Westpac: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages.. St.George: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included. Registration documents are not specified on the consumer page.. Bank of Melbourne: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included.. BankSA: Medical specialists as defined by the Medical Board of Australia; self-employed and casual professionals in the listed fields are included..
It depends on the lender. Westpac: Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages. St.George: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. Bank of Melbourne: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver. BankSA: Applies to variable and fixed loans, owner-occupied or investment. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track self-employed assessment; self-employed medicos still get the 95% waiver.
Checked 22 September 2026against each lender’s own policy page; re-read monthly. Profession lists and income tests change without notice; confirm with the lender before you rely on a row. LMI estimates are a guide from insurers’ published tables, not a quote. Arthr Pty Ltd provides marketing and lead-generation services only; credit assistance is provided by 1st Street Pty Ltd, Credit Representative 490057 under Australian Credit Licence 389328.
1st Street sees every lender’s credit policy, including waivers the consumer sites don’t show, and which lender also gives you the rate.