Westpac · LMI waiver
3 profession groups, $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier.
Westpac calls it the Medico and industry LMI waivers and waives lenders mortgage insurance up to 95% LVR for: 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages. Evidence: Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages. We read Westpac’s own page on 22 September 2026 and quote it below.
Westpac’s own policy pageFrom the page we read, so you can check us.
Westpac — Medico and industry LMI waivers
“Medico - 95% LVR+ LMI waiver: Dentists, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists. Medico - 90% LVR+ LMI waiver: Minimum income threshold of $90,000 per annum.”
On a $720,000 loan at 95% LVR, the insurance Westpac is waiving would be roughly $30,240, a one-off premium that is usually capitalised into the loan and paid off with interest over the term. The estimate is from the insurers’ published tables; the LMI calculator gives it for your own figures, and the borrowing pages show what the deposit you keep does to how much you can borrow.
Who else publishes a waiver, as at 22 September 2026.
Yes, up to 95% LVR, with $90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier. Westpac lists: 95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals. Its own page says: "Medico - 95% LVR+ LMI waiver: Dentists, General Practitioners, Hospital-employed Doctors (Intern, Resident, Registrar, Staff Specialist), Medical Specialists. Medico - 90% LVR+ LMI waiver: Minimum income threshold of $90,000 per annum." Checked 22 September 2026.
95% LVR, no income test: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (intern, resident, registrar, staff specialist), medical specialists; 90% LVR, $90k income: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists, veterinary practitioners; 90% LVR (broker policy): accounting and legal professionals. That is Westpac's own wording, which matters: "medical practitioners" and "health professionals" are different lists at different banks.
$90,000 a year for the 90% tier; none for the 95% medical tier. Maximum loan $5m, $7.5m total lending with a waiver. The 90% tier can't be combined with Fast Track. Whether investment loans and packages qualify is not stated on the public pages.
Professional qualifications are verified with the application; nurses and midwives must be registered. The accrediting bodies are not named on the public pages.
Not among the lenders we read: Westpac's 95% is the highest published.
Checked against Westpac’s own page on 22 September 2026. Policies change without notice; if something here doesn’t match what they’ve told you, theirs is right and we’d like to know. Arthr Pty Ltd provides marketing and lead-generation services only; credit assistance is provided by 1st Street Pty Ltd, Credit Representative 490057 under Australian Credit Licence 389328.
A broker at 1st Street can confirm the policy applies to you before you apply, and whether another lender gives you the waiver and a better rate.